America… England… England… America

012 - Loch Ness Scotland

Loch Ness, Scotland

This post will explain why I have the nerve to spell in English yet I speak in American.  There may be a link between this and my car buying tendencies outlined in yesterdays post, but despite the fact that I over analyse everything even I will not venture into that territory.

When I was 16 I first visited England.  It was 4 weeks after I first saw The Rolling Stones at The Hollywood Palladium.  Basic math, A + B = C.  I was an instant Anglophile.  That combined with my love of calm anarchy led me to want to do everything possible to irritate my teachers when I returned to school after that summer.  If I spelled in proper English I could not possibly get in trouble.  Yeah, right.  The very first time I used the word “theatre” in a sentence I was reprimanded for mis-spelling the word.  “But, Mrs. Lovedark, “theatre” IS the proper spelling of the word.”  I was reprimanded for disrupting the class and for not knowing how to spell.  The use of the word “behaviour” came next.  Once again, my argument seemed to hold about as much water as a sieve. 

This was perfect.  Constant anarchy.  There was no way I was going to revert to American.  It was a daily battle with authority and I knew I was right.  I made certain that I knew how to spell every word in English.  (For some reason, to this day “tyre” is the one exception.) 

172 - Tower Bridge - London England

Tower Bridge as seen from the Thames River - London, England

The next step was the date.  The teachers wanted papers marked April 20 1976.  This just did not work for me.  I started using 20 April 1976.  You would have thought I brought a nuclear bomb into Glendale High School.  It was an assault on the American flag. 

Just so you know, I currently write the date as 12.08.2009.  Everything must evolve but I have to admit that having the date first, then the month took me a while to get accustomed to.  But it is just SO European.

The plot thickens when I started writing phone numbers with dots decades before it was cool in the USA.  1.888.666.8888 just looks so cool.  For many years I was responsible for the advertising for the company I worked for.  When I would create the print ads, the phone never had parenthesis or a dash.  1 (818) 241-0000 was just so American and to me, despite protests from my boss and the people who just did not understand why I was so weird I persisted and now, as you all know… the dots are commonplace.

Right now I am a one man campaign for two things.  I am Americas’ sole advocate for the use of the word “mobile” instead of “cell” and the proper English and Canadian use of the word “cheers”.   Cell phone is so 1980’s.  Our iPhones and Blackberries are so much more than mere phones.  “Mobile” says it all.  It IS a mobile device.  Deal with it America and get with the program.  Start referring to your phone as your “mobile” and your life will be dramatically improved.  “Cheers” is another story.  I lived in Canada for 2 years between 2005 and 2007.  I quickly acclimated to the use of the word “cheers” as a means of saying “good bye”.  I use it in writing (as you already know if you have been reading this blog) as well as daily use around people.  I have to admit that I get weird looks at the In N Out drive through when I say “cheers” as I drive off with my double double, but who cares?  Change does not always come easily and if I am going to succeed in this mission I must accept a few snickers.  If you hear me say “cheers” chances are I am not raising a glass to your well being, I am merely being courteous as part of the new world order.

Sidmouth, England

Sidmouth, England

It was so easy to fit in while I was living in Canada.  They spell like I do.  Live was simpler up there.  There was no one to convert to my way of thinking.

I do not think it is wrong that I do not speak in English.  I admit to speaking in American.  I see no reason to say “vit-a-MEN” when while I am in the US “vitamin” will do.  “Al-U-MIN-E-EMMM” is not going to be understood but “aluminum” will.  You see, it is not a spelling issue.  Regional pronunciations do not bother me.  Although just to confuse the matter I do often say “loo” or “cinema” but I would rarely say “fishmonger”.  This whole topic fascinates me.

Last Christmas as I prepared to cook dinner for my miniscule family I bought butter from Devon, England.  It tasted a lot like butter, but it was way more cool since it was in a round cylinder shape insead of our rectangles.  When I cook, I will only use Maldon salt from England.  I wonder if any of this explains why I enjoy Gordon Ramsey so much?  I watch him on ‘F Word’ as well as ‘Hell’s Kitchen’.  It is not a man crush and since he is Scottish that just really confuses the issue.  So, if you think I nuts you may be onto something. 

Llanarmon, Wales

Llanarmon, Wales

I could go into my use of the Metric System at this point, but since it has little to do with the subject of this post I will abstain.  That would be a great topic for another day.

I suppose my love of mild anarchy extends to American politics.  Right now, we need a minour revolution to send a message to Washington D.C., but I doubt my use of English will have much of an impact on the fascists who are trying to take over every aspect of our lives.  Opps… Sorry, I did not mean to get political.  Another hint of things to come.

Cheers.

~ by tegold on 10.08.2009.

3 Responses to “America… England… England… America”

  1. Keep going Goldie…

  2. Here here!!!!

  3. Beautiful Pictures. Loving the way you write LOL… Great idea this blog eh?

    Big smooches for ya x

Leave a Reply

 
